The Return – Part 1

pursuedmanGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

The things you notice. There’s a dead dog not too far off from where I’m sitting, see. For the record, there are 327 flies laying eggs in his open wounds and doing whatever else it is that flies do. I should probably know what that is, and if I wanted to, I could, but right now it isn’t exactly a pressing matter, so that’s that.

So, anyway, I’m writing this stuff down. Why? For posterity, I guess. Maybe I’m kidding myself that somebody will find it interesting. The thing is, if anyone is actually reading it, then I’m history and it doesn’t really matter. Not to me, anyway. Still, I feel compelled, so there it is.

I didn’t kill the dog. I just want to make that clear. I’ve never killed anything. So I guess it might be considered ironic that I’m being hunted down and might just end up like the dog. Yeah, maybe. Maybe not. I’ve made it this far, though it doesn’t seem fortuitous that I’m currently hiding in an abandoned slum with a dead dog for company. I mean, it’s not like dead dogs are great conversationalists, you know?

Let me tell you how I came to be in this position. Thereby hangs a tale as someone once said. I think it might have been Shakespeare. I read some of his stuff. Sounds like something he would have said. Taming of the Shrew? Don’t know. It’s been so long since I had the luxury.

I came down here to see for myself how things were going. It’s been a long time. I asked my father about it and he told me I should probably see for myself. I think he’s testing me again. It’s a little different this time around, I must say. I came in to all this the same way as last time, but boy have things changed. I would have thought people would have learned by now. It’s not like I didn’t try. You see, I’ve always known who I am and what I would eventually do, I just didn’t expect things to turn out the way they did. Especially not where I am at the moment, hiding out with only a dead dog for company. I’ll make a move soon, but for now I need to think things over, and here seems like as good a place as any for that.

I grow weary from all that’s happened the last few days. I need to rest, but I have to stay awake until I can be sure I wasn’t followed. I don’t understand these people. I meant no harm. I guess I’d forgotten how obdurate they can be. I guess the laugh is on me, but really, I don’t mind.

But I’m getting ahead of myself I suppose. Let me start at the beginning.

I was born in a small town in a nowhere place. Times were hard, as they can be now and then, and we didn’t have much. My mother, well, what can I say? She was a saint. My father, he never really seemed to have a clue what things were really about. Talk about deja vu. But no matter, we got by. I’m not complaining. Far be it from me to do that. I had an okay childhood, I guess that’s what I’m trying to get at. I was just average at school, didn’t really see much point in most of what they offered, but I didn’t want to rock the boat. Not until it was time, that is.

Tomorrow – Part 2

Leave a Reply

