The Return – Part 2

pursuedmanGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

So I did all the things that boys do these days, and I didn’t make waves. Never got into any trouble, just kept my head down and waited for my time to come. I think my mother always had an inkling of what was to come. Women are like that sometimes. She never said anything, but the way she treated me, the things she did, I think she had a clue. She was good to me, and I treated both of my parents well. I took up a trade, one that I knew well, and I applied myself. All the while I observed. I took it all in, and I was dismayed by much of what I saw, but I’ve never been one to let that get in my way.

I developed friendships. Those I could see that had it in them to understand, I sought them out, and I cultivated them. Some of them seemed to see into me, but I didn’t let them get too close. I didn’t want it to be like last time. Over time they did what young people do, forming relationships, pairing off, getting married. They queried why I didn’t do the same. How could I explain? It was not what I had come for. I had work to do. Eventually I moved away, partly to avoid the constant questioning, but also to discover more of what I needed to know.

I travelled the world, using what I had saved to get started, but living in the moment thereafter; secure in the knowledge it would all work out. It’s not like I didn’t know what to expect. Everywhere I went I heard the word. Many there were who knew what to say, but as always so many of them did not possess integrity. They did not practice what they professed to believe. I took it all in and made it a part of myself, that I might understand better.

My travels took me everywhere. Europe, Asia, Africa, South America. How the world had changed. I spent much time in small cities and villages, living amongst the people, getting to know them all, the good and the bad alike. I passed no judgement, I merely observed and learned. In this way I passed my early adult years. I was doing what I needed to do.

At times I became lost in the minutiae of day-to-day existence. Always the temptation was present to simply live my life out in the joy of discovery and learning. But that was not to be my fate. I had come with a purpose, and I never entirely lost sight of my destiny. How could I? I had been through it before. Still, as the months went by and the urge to discover more possessed me I continued moving from place to place and breathing in the essence of humanity as it had become. It was during a stay in Fiji that I felt the urge to do what I had come for, to let my work begin.

I reflected long on how to go about what I had come to do. Where to begin, that was the thing. It seemed obvious to go back to the place of my birth and begin there. It was no accident that I had been born there, and really it was the place most in need of it. Many there were who had twisted things into something all but unrecognisable, and because of the influence this place had on worldly affairs, it seemed only right to set about my work there.

Thus it was that I prepared myself to return to the homeland of my parents.

Part 3 tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

