The Return – Part 3

pursuedmanGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

When I returned home my birth parents were overjoyed to see me. I relaxed for a few days and settled in and caught them up on my travels. My mother told me she didn’t really understand why I had needed to travel as I did and what it was I had set out to do. It was then that I decided it was time to tell them the truth.

After it was done they sat in stunned silence and simply stared. It was no less than what I expected, still it was hard. I took their hands and assured them it was all true, and that they would always be special to me. My father began shaking his head. I knew it would be hardest on him. At last he stood up and looked down at me.

“Son, I think you need help. We could…” He was at a loss for words. Finally he hung his head and walked out of the room.

The pain on my mother’s face brought me sadness. She put her face in her hands and began to weep. I stood up and told them I had much to do before I departed again and went to my room to collect my thoughts. I did not sleep that night. I tossed and turned and in the end drew on the inner strength I had always had to firm up my resolve. In the morning I went down to a very strained and silent breakfast. At last my father broke the silence after a sidelong glance from my mother.

“Son, I want to listen carefully. There’s a doctor in town that we want to see. We’ll pay for it; all we ask is that you go there and talk to him. Can you do that for us?”

I put down my fork and smiled at them. “No, I can’t. It’s not necessary. Look, I don’t expect you to understand. I just wanted you to know what’s going on. In time you will know. For now, you’ll just have to have faith in me. Isn’t that what you’ve always professed?”

My mother bowed her head for a moment and then looked up at me. “My son, you know I love you. Yes, I have faith in you, but if you won’t do as we ask then all I can do is wish you well, and pray that one day you will find yourself.”

I got up from the table and stood for a moment, then wished them both well and went to pack. The time had come to let my work begin. There was nothing more for me to do in my parent’s home. When it came time to leave I wished them both well. They put on a brave face, but their sorrow was palpable and touched me deeply. I assured them they would see me again soon and that our next reunion would be joyous.

With that I set out to begin my mission. It was a beautiful Sunday morning and I knew just where to begin my work. I set out for the Largest Baptist ministry in the state without hesitation. The time had come to make my presence known.

Part 4 tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

