The Return – Part 5

pursuedmanGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

I was bruised and battered, but unbowed. If anything my resolve was firmer still. I had come here to show them the way and the glory, and that is what I would do. They needed me; they just didn’t know it yet. After more reflection I decided that going to a church was not the right thing to do. After all, that was the source of the misinformation they laboured under. How could I expect to understand in such an environment? Had I not told them the first time around that my father’s house was not within walls? Had I not thrown the moneychangers out of the temple?

I decided I needed to find a large gathering in an open space where conviviality was prevalent. Perhaps in such circumstance they would be more receptive and inclined to hear the true word. Someone had left a newspaper on the park bench I was resting on, so I picked it up and began perusing it. My eyes fell on an advertisement for a Christian music festival that was due to begin the next day. I knew then and there that my father in heaven had directed me to this paper! This was the answer. I would go there tomorrow and bring them the glad word. I decided it would be best not to go back to my parent’s house, so I set about finding a place to spend the night and prepare for the next day.

In the morning I rose, my heart filled with gladness, secure in the knowledge that after my false start I would now begin my ministry for real. I performed my morning ablutions and then set out for the site of the festival, a bounce in my step and a smile on my face. Oh how their hearts would soar when they recognized me!

When I got there, there was song and celebration everywhere I turned. The people were so happy, and filled with the spirit. I made my way to the stage and explained to the security guard at the steps that I had a message of great importance to impart to the crowd. He asked me what it was and I assured him that I had come to share the spirit with the revellers. He seemed doubtful at first, but told me to wait until the band on stage had finished and that I could address the crowd during the intermission. I dutifully waited and we spoke together of the love and joy that filled our hearts. At last I was permitted onto the stage and I took the microphone and addressed the crowd milling about below.

“My children, I bring you joyous news on this day of celebration. I have returned to show you the way. Yes, it is I, the Son of God, made manifest in the flesh. I have returned, and I have love in my heart for all of you.”

The crowd was silent at first, and then there was a cacophony that shook me to my very core. They were angry. There was shouting and swearing and many rushed the stage. I tried to calm them and assure them that I was serious, but the security guard had reached the stage and grabbed the microphone out of my hand. He dragged me into the back and down some steps, berating me and asking me why I wanted to perpetrate such a sick joke on these fine people.

I tried to explain to him that I was for real, that I had come to offer them salvation but he just kept berating me. Soon some of the crowd had made their way to where we were and the guard pushed me through a gate and told me to leave and not come back. He then tried to calm those who had rushed me, but he was soon overwhelmed. I saw that I needed to run; there was no way to placate the angry mob. Soon some of them reached me and began beating me. I covered my head, only to be punched repeatedly. Others pulled them off me and I broke free.

And so I ran for all I was worth. That is how I came to find myself in this abandoned building with a dead dog for company. Dismay has me in its grip and I have no idea what to do next. I cannot give up. I came to the world for a purpose, and I must carry it out. For now I am resting. Inspiration will come to me. I know that it will.

Tomorrow, Part 6 – The conclusion

Leave a Reply

