Things Always Change – Part 3

view-from-the-beach-barTime went by and everything was sweet as could be. The business continued to grow and our fortunes with it. We both drove the most flash cars in town, dressed to the nines, hell, there was nothing we wanted for. Except for one thing. Anne began hinting that she’d like to get married. I’d never told her about the bet, it didn’t seem prudent in as much as it had been a done deal right before we met.

Mel and I didn’t really speak of it after it happened, but we both had a copy of the notorised agreement and I knew for sure that he was never going to let me out of it. It was just his nature. We had made other bets in the past and with Mel a deal was a deal, win or lose. Now, sure we both had loads of money, and while a quarter of a million wouldn’t have bankrupted me, well, it’s just too much money to hand over. Especially in light of what it was for. Mel lived the playboy life. He dated lots of women and didn’t keep one around long enough to get attached. Looking back I guess I always knew that’s how it would always be with him, so it was foolish of me to make the bet. What can I say? We were drunk and we were on top of the world. It was his idea, too. The more I thought about that, the more resentful I became.

So I had a problem. I didn’t want to lose Anne. She had become my world, and for some silly reason I thought of her as my muse. I couldn’t shake the feeling that if she left everything else would follow like dominoes falling one by one. It got to the point where I couldn’t put her off any longer. I told her I would marry her. She was over the moon. So was I, for that matter. She was everything I’d always wanted. Still, there was the matter of the bet. I needed a plan, and I needed one fast, I wasn’t about to lose a quarter of a million dollars. I suppose that’s what mattered most, but there was also the resentment I felt toward Mel for conning me into the bet in the first place. He was the bachelor for life. It was always going to be that way, and the more I thought about it, the more I became convinced my supposed best friend had scammed me. To make matters worse we were having arguments over the future of the business at that point. He wanted to take it in directions that I felt would cheapen our brand name. So there was tension.

In a situation like that things can get out of hand. So it was that I came to a decision. A hard decision, but one I knew was the only way to make everything be right. Mel had to die.

Leave a Reply

