Red Light Requiem – Part 5

Mazza stumbled back into the pub. He couldn’t bear the sight and the crowd was making him nervous. In a daze he went back to where they had been sitting and chugged the rest of his beer. As he put the bottle down he noticed a set of keys on the bar. Josh’s keys, right next to his unfinished beer.

Mazza picked up the beer and downed the rest of it and then grabbed the keys. He didn’t want to think about what he was doing, he knew he wouldn’t go through with it if he did, but something compelled him to make the move. He looked around but everyone was at the back rubbernecking, including the bartender. He picked up Josh’s change off the bar and headed for the door. When he got to the car he looked around once more and then unlocked it and climbed in. In a matter of seconds he was cruising down K’Road in the Porsche, no idea in hell what he was doing but loving every minute of it.

He spotted Baz standing on his corner and swung the wheel hard pulling up to the kerb. He reached over and threw the door open.

“Get in, Baz. Just do it. Now.”

Baz stood gaping for a moment then jumped in the car and they were away. They drove a couple of blocks before Baz looked over and raised an eyebrow.

“Honey, I’m sure you’ve got one hell of a story to tell. Don’t even make me ask.”

Letting out a dry, scared laugh Mazza turned a corner and drove a ways off the strip till he found a small street where he figured they wouldn’t be seen. He parked the car and turned to Baz.

“Baz, he’s dead. For fuck’s sake, he’s dead. I saw the guys who did it. They spotted him and then chased him and now he’s dead and I have no fucking idea what’s going on and I’m scared shitless.”

Letting out a deep sigh Baz reached over and squeezed Mazza’s shoulder.

“How about if you start at the beginning? Since we’re in that hunk’s car that we saw over dinner I’m assuming you mean him. What were you doing with him? Oh wait, I’m sure I don’t really need to ask that”, he said, rolling his eyes, “but what do mean he’s dead? I mean, you’re freaking me out here babe.”

“This dickhead john freaked on me when he found out I didn’t have the kind of plumbing he wanted and he punched me. He was about to carry on when James Dean came out of nowhere and saved me. Oh my gawd, Baz, it was like, so romantic! Anyway, he asked me if I wanted to have a drink and I took him to the pub next to the restaurant where he was parked. We were having a beer and he went to take a leak and then these brutes came in and he saw them and ran out the back and they followed him. I heard a gun shot and when I ran out there he was dead and they were running down the alley.”

Mazza was hyperventilating so Baz stroked his arm to calm him down.

“Okay, got that. But, um, the car?”

“I don’t know. I just…I saw the keys on the bar and I…shit Baz, I had to get out of there, didn’t I? I just did it. I don’t know why.”

Nodding sympathy Baz looked around the car.

“Well, this is one hell of a ride girlfriend. I…”

He stopped short when he noticed an overnight case in the back seat. He reached for it and brought it up front. He pulled the zipper and they both gasped and looked at each other in shock. It was stuffed full of neat packets of hundred dollar notes.

Tomorrow, Part 6

Leave a Reply

