The Pale Dark Rider – Part 7 – The End

When I finally had a chance to try to sort out the madness I found that I didn’t really have much will for it. The whole matter was so horrifying to me and made no sense whatsoever. I did, however, feel there was something hiding in the back of my mind that I wasn’t allowing to come through.

I thought about that for a while and found myself conflicted about pursuing it further. I even considered going into therapy, the idea that I might be slowly losing my mind still a possibility, though I considered it remote.

After another week I was no closer to resolving the mystery and day to day matters once again took precedence and while the memory of the latest incident never left me for long I somehow came to accept it and simply found I had better things to do with my time.

The last event was nearly two years ago now, and life has been good to me, and for that I’m very grateful. I feel I’ve lived a full life and been blessed in so many ways. It’s important that I mention that, I feel. A man should always count his blessings, for you never really know when the end will come, as it does to us all.

Well, that is to say, most never know when the end will come. I can state with some certainty now, speaking strictly for myself of course, that it’s best to not know these things. What’s that old saw about the best you can hope for is to die in your sleep? Yes, I quite agree that it would be preferable, that.

You see, I’m sitting on a train bound for a meeting I’m scheduled to attend, but I don’t suppose I’ll be attending after all. Sitting next to me as of a few minutes ago is a pale dark stranger with a most horrible grin on his face.

The End

Leave a Reply

