In The Kingdom Of The Blind – Part 7

Elizabeth took the glass from his hand and led him to the bedroom. He tried to speak but she put her finger to his lips and then started undressing him. Jerry could do nothing but stand there in utter amazement.

Afterwards he lay there exhausted but contented and traced his fingers down the curve of her shoulder past the rise of her hip and along the outside of her leg. She shivered with delight and leaned over and kissed him.

“You’re incredible. I’ve never met anyone like you.”

“Oh, I’ll bet you say that to all the girls.”

“No, really, I…”

She kissed him again to stop him from speaking. Remembering the day he leaned over and looked at the bedside clock.

“Damn. I have to go. I sure wish I didn’t.”

“I know. You have a meeting.”

“Yes. Having dinner with Reggie. Investment stuff.”

“Of course. It’s all you think about.”

“Oh, come on, I just…”

She smiled and got up and put on a dressing gown.

“Go, Jerry. I’m here.”

He got dressed wondering what she meant but determined not to dwell on it. Driving to the restaurant he couldn’t get her out of his mind. Not that that surprised him. She really was amazing. He was used to being in control and it unnerved him somewhat but he wasn’t going to fret about it.

Pulling into the parking lot he checked his look in the mirror and went inside to find Reggie waiting at the bar.

“Reggie, I hope I’m not late.”

“No, Jerry, I just got here a bit early. Our table is ready when we are. I think you’re going to like this place. Do you like lobster?”

“You bet. Lead the way.”

Letting Reggie lead, Jerry relaxed and listened to Reggie regale him with stories about the railroad business. He knew Reggie would get down to business soon. He didn’t have long to wait.

“So then, Jerry. I’ve been hearing rumours about some things you have on the go. I don’t mind telling you I wouldn’t mind hearing about it if you were so inclined. I hope I’m not being too forward.”

“No, that’s fine Reggie. I do wonder what you’ve heard though. It’s not as though I go around putting my business in the street.”

“Oh, no, nothing of the sort. It’s a tight community here, Jerry. I just hear that you have connections and, well, I just thought perhaps…”

He seemed embarrassed and Jerry didn’t want him to be uncomfortable. He looked around for effect and put down his silverware and leaned in.

“Look Reggie. I like you. You seem a good sort and I’ve been giving it some thought so here’s the deal: I’m a partner in a hedge fund with, well, shall we say advantageous information. It’s a closed group, or was until last week. One of our members had an untimely heart attack and we’re considering a new member. I could make it happen.”

He looked down at his plate and resumed eating as if nothing had changed. He could feel Reggie’s eyes on him but he didn’t look up.

“That sounds interesting Jerry. What’s the buy in?”

Jerry shrugged and waved his knife in a small circle.

“Quarter of million. Its’ currently returning twenty-seven percent. It will get better.”

He speared another bite of lobster and let the hook set. He was in his element and loving it.

Reggie continued eating his dinner and said nothing but Jerry could feel the vibe. Reggie was just like the rest, of that he was certain. A few more minutes of silence and then he was there.

“I suppose you can give me a statement then.”

Jerry looked up and smiled.

“Of course, Reggie. We’re opting blue gold here. Water, Reggie, it’s the future. Oil is running out.”

Reggie nodded knowingly. He had the hunger in his eyes. Jerry knew the look well.

“Why don’t you email me a statement and an account number. I think we’re going to get on just fine.”

With that business was concluded. It was how it was done amongst the elite.

Part 8 Tomorrow

One response to “In The Kingdom Of The Blind – Part 7

  1. More, more, more. I demand 2 installments a day.

Leave a Reply

