Having Visions

Why the hell won’t she just shut up George thought for the umpteenth time as he turned the page of his newspaper and wrestled it into place. Alice took no notice of his lack of attention; she had grown accustomed to it long ago. It didn’t seem like a reason to stop talking.

“Oh, another thing George, the Benson’s would like us to have dinner with them at their place Friday night. I said yes, I hope that’s okay.”

She looked up from her ironing and saw the paper move slightly. She took that as affirmation of the dinner date.

“You know, George, I probably forgot to mention, but yesterday I had one of my visions again. I tell you, I just never know when they’ll happen. This one was so strange. I saw myself standing on an island in the middle of…”

“Alice.”

“Yes George?”

“My head hurts. Do we have any aspirin?”

Alice glared at the newspaper. She knew that was code for shut the hell up. She put her head down and began ironing hard. That man. He could be so annoying sometimes. Twenty-three years of marriage. She did suppose people started to take each other for granted to some extent after that much time, but George could be so cold sometimes.

“Alice, I’m dry. Would you get me a beer?”

Returning from the kitchen, brew in hand; she fantasized about pouring it over his head.

“Here you go George.”

Not even a thank you. Typical. She went back to her ironing. That evening as she was setting the table for dinner George came in from the garage and sniffed the air.

“What are we having tonight?”

“Spaghetti, George.”

“Spaghetti? Oh for crying out loud, didn’t we have that a few days ago?”

Alice gritted her teeth and stormed back to the kitchen imagining tomato sauce decorating the walls and George’s shirt. As she did she stopped short. She put her fingertips to her forehead and closed her eyes. Another vision. They were coming more rapidly these last months. Her sister told her they ran in the family. An aunt and their maternal grandmother had claimed to be visited by them too. This one she chose to keep to herself. It would require some thought.

Friday morning she fixed George his favourite breakfast, French toast and bacon. She sipped her coffee and nattered on about her sister’s upcoming surgery and then remembered what day it was.

“Oh, George, now remember, we’re having dinner with the Bensons tonight and I think you should wear that nice new…”

George’s fork stopped half way to his mouth.

“Dinner with the Bensons? When the hell did this happen? Why don’t you ever tell me what’s going on?”

“George, I told you the other day. I swear you never listen to me. Anyway, I need you to drive me to the mall, I have to pick up a dress I ordered.”

George finished his breakfast muttering under his breath. Alice decided to take no notice. She had come to the realization she’d had quite enough of George.

The mall was very busy and the only parking was on the sixth level where some repair work to a damaged retaining wall was taking place. As they parked near the construction Alice remembered her latest vision and was overwhelmed with a sense of déjà vu.

As he got out of the car George glared with disgust at the rubble around the missing bit of retaining wall.

“Would you look at that? That’s dangerous. You’d think they’d put some sort of barrier in place.”

He walked over to the edge of the mess and looked down, Alice at his side.

“You know George, I can’t remember if I told you about my latest vision.”

“Damn it, Alice, I don’t care about your stupid visions, how many times do I have to tell you?”

Alice stepped back and shoved George from behind with all her might and listened to him scream as he fell six floors.

“I don’t know George, but you won’t be telling me again.”

Leave a Reply

