Mistaken – Part 7

Sarah was doubtful at first but Vanessa took charge and had Sarah tell her everything she knew about Simon. As she listened to the ever more sleazy details she realized that Sarah had been right, Simon would stop at nothing.

She convinced Sarah that neither of them would be safe now, that they would have to go into hiding while they put their plan into action. Sarah’s sister had been in the hospital for weeks now battling a life threatening illness in another town and it gave her the perfect story to tell James about why she needed to be gone for a few days. She called him at work and told him her sister had taken a turn for the worse and she needed to be there for her. He wasn’t happy but he accepted the situation and told her to stay in touch.

They both packed a bag and headed downtown to check into a hotel. Simon always contacted Sarah on her cell phone so he would have no way of knowing she wasn’t at home and if he decided to confront Vanessa he’d find an empty house. They could deal with whatever anger and threats he made toward Sarah as they came. He would not risk doing anything to James.

They parked their cars in the underground lot and checked into a room. As they settled in Vanessa went over the plan they had come up with once more, Sarah giving it her full attention.

“Vanessa, do you realize what we’re doing? I mean, if it went wrong…”

“It’s not going to go wrong Sarah. Don’t you see he’ll eventually do you irreparable harm? He has to be stopped. Men like this don’t deserve to live.”

Sarah was squirming and Vanessa knew she wanted to ask something.

“Go ahead, Sarah. I know you have something you want to know.”

“Vanessa…I want to thank you for all you’re doing for me. You’re one in a million. Please don’t be offended, but…is there some reason you’re doing this that’s personal?”

Vanessa sat down and thought for a moment. It was only right to come clean.

“Sarah, I too was abused. It was a long time ago. It’s a big part of the reason I’m not married and don’t date. I’d rather not talk about it if you don’t mind, but yes, I guess I need to do this as much as you need to get free. Are you all right with that?”

Sarah nodded but wouldn’t meet Vanessa’s eyes.

“I know you’re scared. I am too. We have to make a stand Sarah. You can’t go on like this. If James found out…”

That seemed to stiffen Sarah’s resolve. She lifted her chin and set her mouth.

“Let’s do this thing.”

Vanessa went to her bag and took out the only item that she hadn’t put away and put it on the bed. The cold blue steel said everything there was to say. Sarah stared at it.

“I take it you know how to you use it?”

“Oh yes. I’ve spent many hours at the firing range over the years. I swore I’d never let what happened to me happen again.”

Sarah picked up the gun and ran her hand over the barrel. She put it down with a shudder.

“Vanessa, I don’t think I can…”

“You don’t have to. It will be my pleasure.”

With that the deal was sealed.

Tomorrow – Part 8

Leave a Reply

