A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 2

swimming_gatorGodless Monkey will be away on a photo expedition of Mexico, Central America and Columbia from March 19th to April 20th. I’m running some of my old stories in my absence for your enjoyment.

By then it was gettin’ on towards suppertime, so we headed back towards our houses. When we got to the place where we part company I had the gun, but Abe said give it up. I didn’t rightly want to, but I know how Abe is, and he bein’ older than me and all, I gave it to him and he tucked into his back under his shirt.

“Now don’t you be tellin’ nobody about this, hear?” He was pointin’ his finger in my face. I don’t like it when he does that, and he knows it.

“Oh hell’s bells, Abe, what do you think, I’m stupid?”

He could tell he shouldn’t a said it like he did. “Sorry, Jed. It’s just that we gotten keep this between us.”

We both went our separate ways and at dinner I guess I was thinkin’ real hard, ’cause my momma asked me what was goin’ on. I told her nothin’, but she said she’d asked me twice to pass the gravy and I hadn’t done it. She said maybe she needed to clean my ears out. I swear sometimes she thinks I’m still a baby.

The next morning I rode my bike straight down to the pond to meet up with Abe, it being summer, so’s we didn’t have school. We usually just walk, it being not far, but Abe said bring your bike, so I did. When I got there he was sitting under a tree with a look on his face like it was Christmas morning.

“Hey Abe, what’s doin’?”

“Hey there, Jed. Just waitin’ on you. Boy, I’ll tell ya, I couldn’t sleep a wink last night. We gotta talk, little brother.”

I was kinda lookin’ around, wondering where the gun was on account of I wasn’t seein’ it anywhere. Abe could tell what I was thinkin’.

“I hid it, Jed. We can’t be walkin’ about with it, we might get caught. We’ll only take it out when we need it.”

“Um, okay. What do you mean when we need it?”

“That’s what I want to talk to you about. Jed, wouldn’t you like to have money?”

I had a bad feelin’, so I just nodded my head and waited.

“Me too. You remember what I said yesterday, ain’t nobody gonna give is nothin’ in this world. We’s poor folk, Jed. Your family is poor and so is mine. And so are most of the folks in this town.” Abe was up and pacing back and forth now, like he does when he’s excited.

“So what’re you wantin’ ta do, Abe?” I had a feelin’ I already knew, but I also knew he needed to say it outright.

He fixed me with a look and said, “We got a gun now, little brother. We can get what we want. And ain’t nobody needs to know about it.”

I was gettin’ scared now. “Abe, are sayin’ you want to…rob somebody?”

Abe was grinning from ear to ear. “Get on your bike, Jed, we’re ridin’ into Hillsborough.”

Now Hillsborough is a town about ten miles up the road from where we lived. We go there in the summer when there’s nothin’ to do around home, and it’s where our parents shop for groceries and all. I wasn’t sure I wanted to know what Abe had in mind, but he was on his bike and lookin’ at me, so I got on mine and we started riding. I had a feeling things were gonna get exciting real soon.

Part 3 tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

