A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 4

swimming_gatorGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

After breakfast I went out and sat on the front porch swing and waited for Sherry. She showed up directly and we went for a walk. We talked about what classes we’d have in the new school year and stuff. Sherry was in a real good mood, which made me happy. She was real easy to be around and I liked that.

After awhile we ended up at the pond. I don’t really know how it happened, but I was kinda uneasy. I didn’t want Abe showing up. We sat down under a tree and talked some more and pretty soon I realized I was staring at the place where the gun was buried. Sherry noticed and asked me what I was lookin’ at.

I thought about it and then said it was nothin’, but she was real curious by that time.

“Come on, Jed, I know you got somethin’ on your mind. You can tell me.”

She gave me this look she does sometimes and when she does I get all weird feelin’ inside. I swear I didn’t mean to say it, but next think I knowed I was blurting out about the gun and how we was fishing and all and then found it. She jumped up all excited and said she wanted to see it. I told her Abe would be really mad at me and all, but, well, Sherry has this way of making me want to do stuff for her.

Next think I knew I was digging up that pistol and showing it to her. She kinda had that look on her face like Abe did when he first held it. I sure wish I knew what it was about pistols that makes folks get like that. Anyway, she asked me what we was gonna do with it and I told her we hadn’t really thought about it, maybe just shoot at cans and bottles and stuff.

After awhile I buried it again and we left the pond, but the rest of the afternoon she just kept yammerin’ on about that pistol. It made me real worried, on account of I didn’t want it gettin’ back to Abe. She promised me it would our secret, so I felt better after that.

We went and got some ice creams and went back and sat on my porch for a while and then she said she had to be gettin’ home. She leaned over and kissed me on the cheek and she had a real girly smell about her that made me smile inside. I went back inside and did some chores my momma had asked me to do and then went to my room and laid on the bed and thought about all the stuff that had happened in the last two days.

I tried not to think too much about the next day, but it was there in the back of my mind, what me and Abe was fixin’ to do. I told myself it would be okay, and then maybe Abe would be satisfied and all. I sure hoped he would, anyway. That night I had a bad dream, and when I woke up in the morning i knowed sumthin’ wasn’t right, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. I got myself dressed and went outside to wait for Abe and the whole while I had this lump in my stomach.

Part 5 tomorroGodless Monkey will be away on a photo expedition of Mexico, Central America and Columbia from March 19th to April 20th. I’m running some of my old stories in my absence for your enjoyment.

2 responses to “A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 4

  1. Hey Godlessmonkey. Sorry I haven’t stopped by in ages (again!) I seriously keeping forgetting as you’re not on blogger anymore and it doesn’t update me!

    Anywhow, i’m enjoying this story. You’re definately getting better with your storywriting! It’s great. Keep it up! Looking forward to the next installment.

    Lou…www.livewritedream.blogspot.com 🙂

  2. godlessmonkey

    Hi Lou.

    I’m getting better? Hmmm…does that mean I wasn’t very good before? lol. Great to see you again. I do pop in to your blog, I’m just not good about commenting. I’ll get better at that too!

Leave a Reply

