A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 6

swimming_gatorGodlessmonkey will be away from the computer for a month on a much needed holiday. While I’m gone I’m rerunning some of my multi-part stories for the benefit of those who might not have read them the first time around or would like to read them again. I’ll be back with new stories from October 16th. Thank you all for your support.

There we was, runnin’ down the street and Sherry was starin’ at us, and she was with a guy. I remembered she’d done said sumthin’ about being in town with her folks visitin’ some friends, but I guess I didn’t really pay it much mind at the time.

I seen Abe lookin’ at her as we ran and I knew he was gonna be angry, but we just kept goin’ until we got to the bikes. We hoped on and peddled for all we were worth and when we’d got a ways away from it all we stopped and hid behind some bushes and throwed ourselves down on the ground, all pantin’ and puffin’. We waited expectin’ to hear sirens or sumthin’, but it didn’t happen.

Abe looked over and me. “Consarn it, Jed, what was she doin’ in town? This here ain’t good. We gotta think of sumthin’.”

I looked away. I didn’t want to tell him I knew she was gonna be around, I just couldn’t of knowed she was gonna be on that street at that time, and anyway I’d done plum forgot. I tried to think what to say.

“We was still wearin’ our masks, Abe. Maybe she didn’t know it was us.” It was all I could think of.

Abe thought for a minute. “Maybe,” he said “I don’t reckon she’d a knowed us if she couldn’t see our faces.”

As soon as he said that I felt my stomach go hard. This here was real bad. Abe didn’t know she knew about the gun and all. I didn’t know what to do. We rested a bit more and then we counted the money. There was a hunert and twelve dollars and some change. We liked to have wet ourselves. We’d never seen that kind of money before. Abe kept throwin’ it up in the air and whoopin’ and hollerin’. I had to tell him to stop lest someone find us.

We finally rode back home and when we got to the pond we buried the money and the gun together. Abe kept talkin’ ’bout how we was goin’ places and all, and I was startin’ to believe him. We was rich, is what. We parted ways and said we’d meet back at the pond in the morning to talk. I rode home grinnin’ all big and feelin’ light-headed. That is, until I saw Sherry sittin’ on the front porch swing.

She had her arms crossed and she looked all shocked and sickly. I felt the wind go outta me real quick like. I dropped my bikes and walked slow up the stairs.

“Hey, Sherry.”

She looked at me like she wanted to say something but somehow couldn’t. “Hey, Jed.”

I sat down next to her and tried to think what to say. “So how’d your visit go?”

“Well, Jed, it was interesting. I didn’t rightly expect to see you there.”

Oh. It was like that, then. “Listen, Sherry, it wasn’t supposed to be…” I was at a loss. What could I say that was gonna make it all okay?

“Jed, I’m scared. There’s a problem. That boy I was with, he…well, he asked me questions. He could tell somehow that I knew something…I’m so sorry Jed…”

I got real scared then. I thought things were bad, and now I knowed they was gonna get worse in a minute. “What do you mean, Sherry? Sorry about what?”

She wouldn’t look at me. She had her hands in her lap now and she talked to them. “I told him about the gun, Jed. I had to.” She started to cry. “He wants the money you stole. Or he’s gonna tell.”

2 responses to “A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 6

  1. The new site looks terrific!
    Best wishes
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

