A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 7

swimming_gatorGodless Monkey will be away on a photo expedition of Mexico, Central America and Columbia from March 19th to April 20th. I’m running some of my old stories in my absence for your enjoyment.

I could feel the weight of the whole world on my shoulders and for a minute I thought I might just lay down and die. This was worse than bad. Abe was gonna be really mad when he heard about this. Now there was no way he wasn’t gonna know the whole story.

Sherry looked over at me and I jest nodded my head. There weren’t no words that I could think to say. We sat all quiet like for a while and I tried to think how I was gonna tell Abe the bad news. Then Sherry spoke.

“Jed, I won’t say nothin’ to nobody. I don’t know why you done what you done, but I still like you. You don’t have to worry about me for nothin’.”

That felt good when she said it. I hadn’t even thought about that part up till then. I was too worried about Abe.

“Okay, Sherry. Thanks. I don’t know why…we just found that pistol and…”

“It’s all right, Jed. I better go. I’ll talk to you soon.”

She went on down the steps and got on her bike and she was gone. I reckoned as how I better go talk to Abe directly, as it weren’t gonna do no good to wait. I washed my face and drank some water then got on my bike and rode around to his place. When I called him outside he seemed to know somethin’ weren’t right. I guess he could read it on me.

I told him the whole story, startin’ with her and me sittin’ under the tree and her seein’ me lookin’ at the place we’d done buried the pistol. He started pacin’ about half way through, but he didn’t say nothin’ till I was done.

“Dang it, Jed. How could you do it? How could you tell her? This was our secret. Now look what’s happenin’!”

He was really mad. Abe don’t like it when things aren’t goin’ his way. I told him how sorry I was and all, but all he could think about was that we was gonna lose that money.

“It ain’t right, Jed. It’s ours. We stole it fair and square.”

“I know, Abe, but he’s gonna tell ifn’ we don’t give it up. We’ll go to Juvie fer shur!”

Abe was noddin’ his head, but I could see the wheels turnin’ jest the same. “You tell her to tell him we’ll meet with him. That’s what you do.”

I nodded, but I didn’t think it was a good idea. He knowed we’d got a gun, was he gonna come and get the money from us? I didn’t rightly think so. I told him again how sorry I was and then went home to call Sherry and tell her what Abe was wantin’ to do. She said she’d call and tell him and then see me tomorrow. I told her to meet me at the pond.

The next morning she showed up. I was waitin’ for her, jest skimmin’ stones and such.

“Hey Sherry.”

“Hey Jed. She came over to me with her head down. “He says y’all got a gun and he ain’t stupid. I promised it would be okay, but he says He wants y’all to hide the money somewhere and he’ll just come and get it. He says if you try anything funny he’ll call the police.”

I knowed it was gonna go somethin’ like that. I told her it was time we both went to Abe and tried to talk sense to him. So that’s what we did. Got on our bikes and headed over to Abe’s house.

Leave a Reply

