A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 8 – The End

swimming_gatorGodless Monkey will be away on a photo expedition of Mexico, Central America and Columbia from March 19th to April 20th. I’m running some of my old stories in my absence for your enjoyment.

Abe didn’t take things well, not that I rightly expected he would. I could tell he didn’t like Sherry being there and all, but I felt like he needed to face up to what was happenin’ and her being there made it more real.

He finally agreed to hide the money by the tree where it already was, but I knowed he was thinkin’ real hard. Sherry had to go, and when she left Abe had a small grin on his face that told me this wasn’t going to go well.

“Abe, what are you fixin’ to do?” I felt like it was best just to ask him directly.

“We’re keepin’ the money, little brother. I don’t care what you two say. We’ll hide it all right, but when he comes for it, we’re gonna be there, and we’re gonna put the fear in him. It will work. You’ll see.”

I sure didn’t like that sound of that. I told him this boy would go to the police if we threatened him, but Abe said he reckoned as how if he was to have a gun in his face he’d change his mind. We just had to make him believe we was serious. We told Sherry before she left to tell him the money would be there whenever he wanted it. Abe’s plan was to hide out and wait for him. We figured he’d come the next day, and we wouldn’t leave the money unless we were there too.

So that’s what we did. We dug the money up and took it with us, then we went back the next day real early and buried it again and hid nearby, waitin’ and watchin’. Hours went by and nothin’ happened, and it being a hot day we were kinda dozin’ when we heard a bike comin’ down the road by the pond. We peeked out, and there he was, sure ‘nough. He got off his bike and kinda looked around and then walked over to the tree where the money was. He crouched down and started diggin’ and that’s when Abe tapped my shoulder and jumped out of the bushes pointin’ that pistol at him.

“Stand up and turn around real slow.” Abe was nervous, but he seemed in control.

The boy stood up and turned around and boy did he look scared. I reckon nobody likes having a gun pointin’ at them. He didn’t say nothin’, but he shur didn’t look pleased.

Abe was all business. “Now you looky here. We’re keepin’ this money, and ifn’ you go to the police, it may not be us what comes for you, but somebody shur will. We got friends, is what.”

I couldn’t believe Abe was sayin’ that, but I just kept my mouth shut. The boy started backing away, toward the pond, and I still feel like I shouldn’t seen it comin’, but I didn’t. He turned and ran into the water, I guess he was tryin’ to get away. I yelled out to him to get out of the water, but it was too late. Two alligators were on him in no time.

Me and Abe just stood there, all horrified. Abe dropped the gun. We was scared and all, but we just kept watchin’. There was so much blood in the water. They dragged him under and we never saw him again. I’ll never forget it as long as I live.

I looked at Abe and asked him what now. He shook his head.

“We never saw him, did we? Sherry’s the only other one knows about all this. We’ll just tell her he musta come got the money and left.”

So that’s how it all happened. I’ve been carryin’ this around for forty years now, and it still pains me. We got rid of the gun after that, and we never talked about what happened again, but I needed to get this out there somehow. Like I said, I’ll prolly go to hell, but I don’t rightly care no more.

The end.

4 responses to “A Confluence Of Misfortunes – Part 8 – The End

  1. Cool! Thanks.
    Pat

  2. You’re welcome. Thanks for reading.

  3. hello your blog great
    i am from turkey
    i see your blog alphainventions.com
    my blog http://www.englishturkish.us alphainventions.com englishturkish.us freepremiumwidgets.com partner
    your blog great alphainventions.com great system

  4. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

Leave a Reply

