Paying The Price – Part 9 – The End

Jonny arrived at Fifth and Edison and there was a car parked at the corner. It was the only one in sight. He got out and went over and looked in. Detective Olsen waved him in.

“Hi Jonny. Thanks for coming. We can put an end to all of this tonight. About time, don’t you think?”

“Sure is. I can’t believe all this happened. I mean, I was just doing my job.”

Olsen nodded, but he seemed distracted. He was looking all around.

“What’s up? You don’t think he’s watching, do you? He’ll never show himself if he sees up together.”

“No, I don’t think there’s anyone else around. Still, we should walk over to the park there just in case. He might be working with someone else. It’s possible we’re dealing with more than one person. It would be a shame to get this close and blow it.”

“Another person? Really? I hadn’t thought of that. Okay, let’s go then.”

They got out of the car and walked over into the tree cover. Olsen took out a pack of cigarettes and offered one to Jonny.

“No thanks, I quit a couple of years ago. Bad for your health and all that.”

Olsen chuckled and lit up.

“True. A lot of things are bad for your health, eh?”

Jonny nodded his agreement and looked around.

“So why are we here? I’m supposed to meet him real soon. What’s up?”

“Well, Jonny, we’re here because I wanted to ask you why you treated Carl the way you did.”

“Carl? Who’s Carl?”

“The man who hung himself, Jonny. Do you remember why he called you that night?”

Jonny thought for a moment.

“Something about a relationship problem I think. He was so damn self-pitying. I told him to get a grip or seek help. Jeez, I wish the whole thing had never happened.”

“So do I, Jonny. So do I. Hey, what was that over there?”

Jonny looked in the direction Olsen was pointing.

“What was what? I don’t see…”

Jonny felt cold steel on the back of his neck. With his other hand Olsen took the voice changer out his pocket and held it to his mouth.

“Carl meant the world to his partner Jonny, even thought they were going through a rough patch. He offered a very large sum of money to see him avenged. I told you, justice is a tricky thing.”

Jonny whimpered and started to turn around to beg for his life. The first bullet exited the front of his throat spraying blood in a wide arc over the grass. The second one entered the back of his head and exited his left temple. His body slumped to the ground in a crumpled heap.

The End.

Leave a Reply

