The Man Who Was Not There – Part 2

He ignored the pain in his midsection and tried to figure out what was going on. He couldn’t remember how he had gotten to the room. He knew his name, he knew he had a wife and one son and he knew he was a programmer, it was all clear to him, but how had he come to be in this situation?

A couple of hours later the guard came in with a tray of food and put it on the chair and left. He realized he was hungry and got up to examine the food. There was a roast beef sandwich, some potato salad and an orange. It all looked and smelled fine. He held up the glass of water and examined it too.

He thought it over and decided if they wanted him dead poison wouldn’t be on the cards. He ate and drank. Half an hour later he became drowsy and lay down and fell asleep. As he slept the man in the white lab coat came in and checked his vital signs and then placed a pair of earphones on his head and left.

He regained consciousness all of a sudden and scrambled around the bed in a panic, his ears filled with a screeching white noise that he was sure would render him deaf. The sound ceased as suddenly as it had begun and a few seconds later he heard the door being unlocked. The man in the lab coat came in and took a seat and got out his notebook and pen and began writing.

“What the hell was that?”

Lab coat looked up from his notebook.

“What was what?”

“That horrible racket. What was that about?”

“What racket?”

“For god’s sake, would you please tell what the hell I’m doing here?”

“I ask the questions here Mr. Franklin. Now let’s begin – “

“Franklin? My name isn’t Franklin, it’s Andrews. Why are you – “

The interrogator pulled a driver’s license out of his pocket and threw it on the bunk. For a brief moment the captive was confused. He picked it up and read the name. Joseph Franklin. The photo was of him.

“Hey…yesterday you showed me a drivers license…what’s going on here?”

“I’m here to ask you some questions Joe.”

“My name is Allan Andrews and I…”

He felt disoriented and put his hands on his forehead and then covered his face for a moment.

“How long have I been here?”

“I told you, Joe, I ask the questions here. Now then, what can you tell me about your life?”

“Nothing. I don’t remember how I got here. I…I have a girlfriend. I live with her. Sally. She’s a…manicurist…yeah…”

“You don’t sound certain of that Joe.”

“Goddamn it, I told you my name isn’t Joe. It’s…Allan. Look, am I under arrest or something? I want to see a lawyer.”

“You’re in no position to make demands Joe. Tell me what else you know about your life. What do you do for a living?”

He thought about it and wondered if he should answer.

“I’m…I’m a mechanic. I live on Frost Avenue. I…”

“Are you sure about those things? You seem doubtful Joe.”

“Look, I want out of here. Just let me go, I won’t make any trouble, I promise.”

Lab coat shook his head.

“Doesn’t work that way my friend. You’re going to cooperate at some point. My advise is to make it sooner rather than later.”

“What are you talking about?”

“All right then. We’ll continue another time.”

He got up and went to the door and as he opened it he reached into his coat pocket. Two guards came in and went to the bunk and held down the captive. The doctor approached with a syringe in hand and injected into the neck. They left and locked the door.

Tomorrow – Part 3

2 responses to “The Man Who Was Not There – Part 2

  1. You know, right now I wish I could enter that story and kill “the lab coat”…slooooowly….or at least cause him grievous hurt! Can’t wait for the rest!

  2. godlessmonkey

    Thank you. It’s nice to have a fan.

Leave a Reply

