The Adventures Of Boner And Stink – Part 2

The task in question involved the procurement of a certain vehicle. A car in the possession of a rather nasty piece of work by the name of Thor. How the car came to be in this miscreant’s possession involves a tale of a poker game. You see, the car was mine. I found myself holding a hand that couldn’t lose, only it did. The car changed hands. All fine and well until I found out later there was cheating involved.

This resulted in me wanting my vehicle back. Thor is not the sort of guy you accuse of cheating. I came to the conclusion that I needed someone adept in the art of car theft to retrieve said vehicle and that was where my favour owing friend came in. How was I to know Thor had two very similar vehicles?

A pickle is what you might call it. A dilemma even. When he called me and told me he had gotten my car back and where I could find it Stink and I proceeded to the indicated location. I took one look at the car smacked my forehead. Stink wanted to know what was wrong.

“Hey Boner, what’s the matter? You said you wanted your car back.”

“Damn it Stink, this is a fiasco.”

“It is? Looks like a Cadillac to me.”

I resisted the urge to throttle him. I was faced with the problem of getting this car back to Thor and having the right one taken. The question now was whether or not Thor was aware he had lost one his cars.

I called my now non-favour owing friend and explained that he had procured the wrong ride. He was unimpressed with my dilemma, pointing out to me that his obligation had been fulfilled and suggesting in vivid terms what I might do with my problem. I hung up and retired to a nearby watering hole with my dim-witted nephew to ruminate about possible fixes.

“I don’t get it Boner, you don’t like the car that guy got for you?”

“It’s not the right car Stink. Close but no cigar.”

“There’s no cigars in it? How do you know? You didn’t even look in the glove box.”

“Stink, shut up for awhile. I need to think.”

It occurred to me that I could just walk away from the matter and keep my mouth shut. There was no way Thor would connect the loss of the car to me, especially as it wasn’t the one I had lost to him. The car thief wasn’t going to go around bragging about his deed.

That, however, would mean having to either have the right car stolen or letting the matter go. Neither option seemed viable. If I hired someone to steal the right car then Thor probably would connect the dots. He’s not slow, is Thor. Letting the matter go meant I would never get my car back, and being as how it had been taken from me by nefarious means that did not sit well.

I was on my third beer before I made a decision. I would sell Thor’s car and use the proceeds to buy my car back from Thor. I knew plenty of people on the wrong side of the law who would be interested in such a fine vehicle and would not be bothered by small matters like registration papers and such. These things could be gotten around.

The only worry was that Thor would report the car stolen but that was not probable given that the authorities knew him and a missing vehicle would draw questions of the sort Thor would not want to answer. In other words, the car was probably hot anyway.

The only question was of Thor’s willingness to sell me back my car.

Part 3 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

