The Adventures Of Boner And Stink – Part 4

I made it back outside and stood on the curb rubbing a very sore neck. Things were not working out to my liking. In hindsight I suppose I should have taken into account Thor’s reputation for being volatile. I gave myself a mental kick and got down to the business of figuring out what my next move should be.

Like I said in the beginning, it’s too easy to get frustrated and just stay stuck. I drove home to find Stink staring at a jar on the coffee table, a bit of drool on his chin.

“Stink, what are you up to now?”

“Oh hey, Boner. I found this spider in the kitchen. I trapped him. Ain’t he cool?”

I walked over and peered at the jar and just about jumped out of my skin. He had a spider the size of golf ball. I could see it’s beady little eyes checking me out.

“For fuck’s sake, Stink, what did you trap it for? Why didn’t you just kill it?”

He gave me a hurt look. I hate it when he does that.

“C’mon, Boner, he’s cool. I couldn’t just stomp on him. He would have made a mess.”

I couldn’t argue with that. “So what, pray tell, are you planning on doing with your new pet?”

His eyes lit up like a Christmas tree.

“You mean I can keep him? Thanks, Boner!”

When I put my foot in it I never do it by halves. I was too tired to argue. Stink looked me in the eye.

“What’s the matter Boner? Thor wouldn’t give you the car?”

“Something like that. It’s not going to plan. I have to do some thinking.”

He nodded his head. “I like that about you Boner.”

“You like what about me?”

“How you can think all the time. It makes my head hurt when I try.”

“Yeah, well, how about if you go get me a beer.”

“Does that help you think?”

“Sometimes Stink.”

Recalling the conversation it occurred to me that maybe Thor hadn’t bought my story about not knowing who’d boosted the car. Either way, by making me responsible for finding it if I wanted to buy my car back it gave him the edge. The trouble, of course, was that I couldn’t very well sell his car to buy mine if I was required to come up with his as part of the deal.

The worst part was that he wanted me to find the guy who did it. I had gotten myself into one hell of a mess. Stink brought me my beer and I leaned back into the cushions and started looking for a way out of the mess.

I thought about just telling him I had seen the car in a garage and I had staked it out but no one had gone near it. Maybe he’d be happy enough to get his car back that he’d forget about finding whoever had stolen it and just get on with life. It didn’t take me long to realize that was wishful thinking. Thor was not a forgiving guy.

Besides, that wouldn’t get me any closer to getting my car back. If he did offer to sell it to me at that point I wouldn’t have the money and he’d know something wasn’t right. On top of that it was a big ask for him to believe I had found the car but not the culprit. He’d know right away I had something to do with its disappearance and that would be the end of me. Then who’d take care of Stink?

What I needed was a brilliant plan.

Part 5 Tomorrow

2 responses to “The Adventures Of Boner And Stink – Part 4

  1. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

