The Adventures Of Boner And Stink – Part 6

“Boner, what’s up? You’ve up to something.”

“Just thinking, Stink.”

“About the car?”

“Yeah, about the car. I might have a plan. I need to think it through.”

“Are you gonna need my help?”

“I just might. Can I count on you Stink?”

He got a big goofy grin on his face. He has a heart of gold and he’d do anything I asked.

“Yeah, you know you can Boner.”

This was not going to be easy. It could work, but there were elements that needed tight control and a couple of elements that couldn’t be controlled at all. Those were the ones that worried me. If they didn’t go right I could end up dead. On the other hand, if they did I would be home free and I could get my car back.

I had forty-eight hours to work it all out in my head and put my plan into action. The first thing to do was a bit of research.

“Stink, I have to go out for awhile and look into something. I need you to keep your little friend there out of harm’s way. Punch a few holes in the lid of that jar so he has enough air. Whatever you do, don’t take the lid off the jar for any reason, okay?”

“Yeah, sure Boner. You like him, huh?”

“Uh, yeah Stink. He’s great.”

I drove to the library to use the Internet since we didn’t have a connection at home. I spent a couple of hours gathering information and then headed for my favourite bar to put my plan together. I do my best thinking over a couple of beers.

The hard part was going to be getting Thor to meet up with me without any of his boys around him. Getting him to meet up with me alone was going to require some extra special thinking. If I could pull that off I was pretty sure I could make the rest of the plan happen.

Thor was already suspicious of me and I could work that to my advantage, but that would also be a hindrance in arranging the private meeting. A couple of beers later I had an idea that just might make that part happen.

Thor was not immune to easy money. If I told him I had a sweet deal I wanted to let him in on I had a pretty good idea I could get him alone to discuss it. That would be all I would need. If everything went to plan the fact that there was no deal wouldn’t matter.

I felt so good about my plan I decided I’d take Stink out for a nice dinner. I would put my plan into action the following day. Driving home I couldn’t take my eyes off the glove box of my car. I would have to clean it out and make sure I was ready.

I arrived home in a good mood and was glad to see Stink wasn’t involved with his playmate.

“Hey Stink, what’s up?”

“Oh, hey Boner. I’m just watching some cartoons. Man, I wish I could understand this stuff.”

I shook my head and thanked my lucky stars I wouldn’t need Stink to be a part of my plan.

“So what say we go out to dinner tonight Stink. Anywhere you like.”

“Great, Boner. We haven’t done that for awhile.”

I sat down and wrote out my plan just to make sure there was nothing I was missing. I couldn’t afford to get this wrong. When I was sure it was workable I put it aside and let it go. There was no use getting wound up about it all. I just had to give it a try.

Part 7 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

