The Adventures Of Boner And Stink – Part 8 – The End

I didn’t get much sleep that night. It’s not easy relaxing when the possibility of tomorrow being your last day alive is on your mind. I woke Stink up early and told him were going out for breakfast.

As we ate I broke it to him that I had to deal with the issue of the car and that I needed to take him somewhere safe just in case things didn’t go well. He didn’t handle it well and I’m sure the people in the café won’t soon forget us but that’s life.

After breakfast I dropped him off at the apartment of someone I could trust and told him I’d be back for him as soon as I could. With Stink out of the way I went back to the house and picked up the things I needed to make the plan work.

I headed back to the warehouse and made a little deposit in the glove box of Thor’s car after priming it for action. I stood back and looked around. I had done all I could do. I went outside for some fresh air and my phone rang.

“Hello?”

“Boner. Okay, let’s do this thing. Come on over and I’ll meet you downstairs.”

I started to reply but the line went dead. That was Thor. All business. I got in my car and headed over his place. I parked a couple of blocks away and walked to the apartment building. He was sitting in the car he had cheated me out of. I took a deep breath and got in.

“Boner, this had better be for real. First I want the name of the asshole who stole my car.”

I was ready for that. I gave him a name he wouldn’t know and reassured him I would let him know as soon as the guy was free. I gave him directions to the warehouse and he started the car.

“So what have got that you’re looking to trade for this car?”

“I’ve got an ounce of pure heroin Thor. It’s all yours.”

“Yeah? That’s mighty generous of you Boner.”

I shrugged and looked out the window.

“Where is it?”

“It’s at the warehouse with the car.”

We pulled up a short time later and went inside. Thor got a great big grin on his puss when he saw his car. He walked all around it checking it out and nodded his approval.

“Where are the keys Boner?”

My heart was pounding. It was show time. I walked to the passenger door and opened it.

“They’re in the glove box Thor, let me get them for you.” I moved my hand fast toward the compartment and it had the desired effect. Thor pulled a .357 magnum from his coat pocket and aimed it at me.

“Not so fast Boner. I’ll get them.”

He pushed me out of the way and kept his eye and his gun on me as he opened the glove box and reached in. I found myself praying. A moment later he screamed and dropped the gun and covered the hand he had reached in with the hand that used to have a gun.

The black widow, which I had agitated real well before I put it in there had done its job. Thor was kneeling on the ground cursing a blue streak. I was holding the gun now.

“You need a doctor Thor. That was a black widow. You’ll be dead soon if I don’t take you to the hospital.”

As I bundled him into what was now my car again I slipped the ounce of heroin into his coat pocket unnoticed. I drove with one hand and kept the gun on him with the other. When we got to the hospital he looked at me and told me he’d deal with me when he was fixed up.

I watched him go and knew that wasn’t going to happen. I got out my phone and tipped the police off that a major drug dealer was at the hospital being treated for a spider bite and that he was carrying.

I knew Thor would get fifteen to twenty with his previous record. There was still the matter of his gang but I had my car back. It was time for Stink and I to pull up stakes and start over somewhere fresh. The money I’d make from the sale of Thor’s car would give us a nice new start.

The End

Leave a Reply

