Fun With Cancer – Part 2

Eileen seemed at a loss for words. Colin shrugged. Time to move things forward.

“Look you two, I didn’t mean to bring you down. It’s okay; I’m sort of at peace with things for now. I’m just trying to be normal in the time I have left. So what do you two do?”

Cyndi glanced at Eileen. She could see she was going to have to take the lead.

“Well, I’m a secretary at a law firm and Eileen is a waitress at a really nice Italian place across town.”

She really couldn’t think of what more she could say. She felt so sorry for him. She thought about it then decided to go ahead and ask.

“Look, Colin, I think it’s great that you’re putting on such a brave face. Do you mind if I ask, well…”

“Maybe six months. You never know. I’m not doing chemo anymore, since they told me it’s, you know, terminal.”

He cast his eyes downward and then looked away, putting on his best game look again. He took a sip of his club soda for effect and waved it around. “This is all I can drink in these places anymore. I sure miss beer.”

They looked near tears. He was playing it just right. All the practice he’d had was paying off. If they didn’t ask the magic question soon he’d have to lead them to it. He preferred it when they got there on their own.

Eileen was smiling at him and he could sense she was close. He gave her his best little boy smile and he could see it tugging at her heartstrings. This was going to happen. He thought about his next move and pressed on.

“But hey, you play the cards life hands you, right? I’m just taking it one day at a time and having as many experiences as I can.”

“What sort of things have you been doing Colin,” Cyndi wanted to know.

“Well, I went sky diving a few weeks ago. I’d never done that before.”

“Sky diving! Wow. You mean, you’re still strong enough for stuff like that?”

“Oh yeah. I’ve still got good stamina. Not sure for how much longer but you know, I can still manage everything I want to do.”

He searched their eyes for signs that they were thinking along the lines he wanted them to and he was pretty sure they were. He put on a sad face again in the hopes it would trigger the right reaction.

Eileen reached across and put her hand over his. “Colin I want you to know I really admire your attitude.” She seemed to be considering her next question. “So do you have like, one of those bucket lists? I mean you did the skydiving, what else you planning on doing?”

He willed himself not to move too fast. “Well, I want to drive a really fast car. I want to go to Rapa Nui and see those big stone sculptures, but I don’t know if I can swing that. Stuff like that. Maybe one other thing.”

“What might that be Colin?”

Eileen was leading him to it. He could sense it. He looked into her eyes and allowed a small smile to turn up the corners of his mouth.

“Well, there’s one thing I’ve never done and I’ve always wondered what it would be like. But, well…I don’t want to be crude.”

Cyndi and Eileen exchanged a look. He couldn’t believe his luck. It was going to go down. Cyndi leaned over and whispered in Eileen’s ear and Eileen giggled.

“Colin, why don’t you finish your club soda and then the three of us can get out of here, would you like that?”

Part 3 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

