A Pun-gent Interview

“Mr. Aldridge, your three o’clock interview is in the interview room.”

“Thank you Debra.”

Clarence Aldridge took the folder with Brian Fox’s resume from the pile on the corner of his desk and proceeded down the hall. He peeked through the window when he got there and found Brian with his feet up on the desk and his fingers locked behind his head. He cleared his throat as he entered the room and Brian scrambled into a more appropriate position.

“Good day Mister Fox, I –“

“Brian.”

“Excuse me?”

“Call me Brian. Please.”

“All right Brian. My name is Clarence Aldridge. You’re here to interview for the mailroom position. Tell me, what about this position attracts you?”

Brian shrugged. “Gotta pay the rent. Your name is Clarence? Really? Bummer.”

“I see. Well then, I’ll just peruse your resume for a moment.” Clarence’s eyebrows arched higher the longer he read.

“This is quite an unusual resume Brian. I see you were a tennis umpire briefly. Why did you leave that job?”

“Well, they said I was generous to a fault.”

Clarence pursed his lips and looked back at the resume. “I see you attended a course on software engineering. How did that go?”

“I just couldn’t get with the program.”

“Was that supposed to be funny?”

“Software engineering? Don’t know; I didn’t get that far.”

“Hmmm…what other academic matters did you investigate?”

“Well, I took a course in Astronomy but after a while I realized I was just taking up space.”

Clarence closed the folder and looked Brian in the eye. “Brian, I’ll be frank with you, I don’t think you’re suited to this position or this company.”

Brian shrugged again. “Well, I’m inclined to be laid back.”

“Yes, I suppose that’s true. It certainly was before I entered the room.”

“Anyway, there’s always the book I’m working on, I guess I’ll have to put more effort into that.”

Clarence rolled his eyes. “I just know I’m going to regret this but what book would that be Brian?”

“It’s about anti-gravity. I figure once folks start reading it they won’t be able to put it down!”

“Good day Mr. Fox.”

5 responses to “A Pun-gent Interview

  1. Haha! Oh man! Someone you can either really like, hate or get tired of real quick. I’m thinking I’d go for option 3 😉

    • Hey there. Did you see my comment on your blog? I’m looking for a decent hotel in KL for the beginning of May. Any suggestions? Cheap would be good…

      • Ah! Just left a comment on your post on scary Wayne…it was for 5 star hotels though. Give me a couple of days, and will let you know about cheaper alternatives then! 🙂

  2. Hi there, here are some cheaper alternatives for hotels in KL:

    My hotel: (hehe! no it’s not really mine 😉 ) It’s located in KL Sentral which is just a few minutes walk to the rail system that run into the city and near Little India
    http://www.kl-hotels.com/my-hotel/ . According to a friend, it looks nice and decent from the outside.

    Radius International: This is located in Changkat Bukit Bintang, which is in the city centre and you can walk to the major shopping mall areas. http://www.kl-hotels.com/radius/

    Just a tip: If you take a cab in KL make sure you tell them to use the meters!!!

    Hope this helps!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

