The End Of Time – Part 2

I took it out of my pocket and looked it over again. It seemed older this time as I studied it more closely. I opened it again and read the inscription. What could it mean? A time for departure even when there is no certain place to go. I wondered if the owner of watch had received it as a gift and if the inscription was already there or if they had taken it to someone and had it done. The workmanship of the inscription was outstanding. Someone who obviously took great pride in the work had done it in a very steady hand.

Again I was struck by the way the watch seemed to bear a gravitas one would never associate with such an object. It was as though there was more to it than met the eye and I found the longer I held it in my hand the more important it became. When I began to feel warmth radiating into my palm I thought I must have been letting my imagination get the better of me. I put the watch in a drawer and turned my attention to the books I had brought home.

I lost myself in the crisp clean pages after examining the covers. It’s a ritual I have whenever I acquire new books. I like to take my time getting to know them, burying my nose in the open pages and examining every inch the covers and reading the blurbs and then finally whatever prologue is offered before I begin the actual reading of the material.

Later I tore myself away from my reverie and did some cleaning and then after deciding what to make for dinner I set about the preparation. I had dinner in front of the television, a bad habit I had acquired since becoming single again several months ago and then took a leisurely bath and got ready for bed.

I dithered over which of my newest acquisitions I wanted to read taking a ridiculous amount of time to choose which one to continue with and then slid between the covers. Reading until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer I put the book aside and turned out the light.

As I drifted off to sleep I found my thoughts wandering back to the watch. The inscription was the last thing that ran through my mind. The dreams that followed were amongst the strangest I had ever had. When I awoke the next morning they were still vivid in my mind but as thoughts about the day ahead intruded the dreams dissolved like smoke encountering a sudden draft of air.

As I showered I tried to recall details but to no avail. By the time I had eaten breakfast and sat down at my computer to do some work I realized I had resolved to put effort into finding the owner of the watch. It was an important item, I was sure of it. I had no idea how I would go about it but I knew it was something I had to do.

I turned my attention to the report I needed to finish for a looming deadline and put the watch out of my mind. When I had a final draft I was satisfied with I sent the file to the computer and wondered what I should do about lunch. The phone rang.

“Hey there girl, what’s up? I was wondering if you might want to do lunch today. That new Mexican place on Slate Street has been on my mind lately.”

“Hi Megan. Sounds great. I was wondering where I should go myself. Meet you there in half an hour?”

I grabbed my coat and had my hand on the doorknob when I felt the pull of the watch from the drawer. It’s a strange thing to tell, I know, but that was the case. It was calling out to me in some way I can’t explain. I went over and took it out and slipped it into my coat pocket and headed out.

Part 3 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

