The End Of Time – Part 3

When I arrived Megan was waiting for me at a choice window seat with a great view. Megan has a knack for that sort of thing so it’s always great dining with her. I hung my coat on the back of my chair and greeted her with a smile.

“Hey girl, you’re looking chipper today. Did you get lucky last night?”

“I wish. I haven’t given that much thought since I broke up with Brad. How about you, how’s your love life?”

“Oh, you know me, love ‘em and leave ‘em Megan. Just can’t seem to commit.”

The waiter brought us menus and we pondered our selections. I had a strange feeling and looked up in time to see a gentleman at a table in the middle of the room looking at me. He looked away with studied indifference but I was certain he had been checking me out.

“Megan, don’t look now, but that distinguished looking older man over your right shoulder was checking me out.”

She knocked her napkin off the table and looked him over while she retrieved it. “Hmm, looks like he’s loaded. Maybe you should wink at him.”

“Very funny. You think he’s just hot for me or does he have some sinister purpose?”

“Oh, I’m sure that’s it. He’s a suave international spy shadowing you because you have some important object or information he needs.”

I remembered the watch in my coat pocket and wondered for a moment if she might have accidentally hit on something. I took it out and showed it to her.

“I found this on the bus yesterday. I tried to turn it in but the bus driver was rude.” I handed it her and she looked it over.

“Wow. This is old. Like at least a hundred I’d say. It’s kind of…”

“Yeah, I know. It has a sort of presence doesn’t it? Open it up.”

She looked at the face and then read the inscription. “Hmm. That’s interesting. What do you suppose it means?”

“Just what it says I guess. I wonder if it came that way or if the person who owned it had that inscribed.”

Megan seemed mesmerized by the inscription. I wasn’t certain she had heard what I said. At last she looked up and frowned. “Sarah, there’s something about this thing. It’s more than what it seems. I don’t know how I know that I just do.”

“I know. I feel it too. Yesterday when I got home I was holding it in my hand and I could swear it was generating some sort of heat or something that was radiating into my palm. I don’t know what to make of it.”

“What are you going to do?”

“Well, I suppose I should try to find the owner. I’m going to call the bus company when I get home and see if anyone has asked about it being turned in. If not I’m not sure what else I can do. Put an ad in the paper?”

Megan shrugged. “I guess. I would think whoever lost it would certainly be looking for it. You should be able to connect with them.”

As she handed it back I noticed out of the corner of my eye that the man at the table was looking at me again. I made a point of trying to make eye contact with him but he got up from the table and headed for the cash register and then out the door. As he opened the door he turned and looked at me one more time and then he was gone.

Part 4 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

