The End Of Time – Part 4

“Earth to Sarah. Helloooooo.”

“Oh, sorry. That man who was looking at me, he just left.”

“Yeah, so?”

“He turned and looked at me again just as he got to the door.”

“Well, babe, I must say you’re looking damn hot today.”

“Ha ha. So anyway, yeah, I’m going to try to find the owner. I would think they must have been missing it by now.”

The waiter came back and took their orders and they caught up on gossip while they waited for their food. Sarah couldn’t help glancing at the door from time to time but Megan either didn’t notice or pretended not to.

Conversation died down when their food arrived. Sarah eyed Megan’s enchiladas wishing she had ordered them but her fajitas were outstanding. They shared some guacamole and chips as well and were full and happy at the end.

A bit more chatter and Megan looked at her watch and announced she had to go. “Got a meeting with a client. We really should do this again soon though.”

They paid and parted ways, Sarah looking over her shoulder a few times as she headed for her car. She had a hunch she hadn’t seen the last of the mysterious gentleman. She did a few errands before heading home. As she fumbled with her keys at the front door she again got an odd sensation she couldn’t figure out.

Entering with caution she stopped and listened. Nothing. She told herself she was being foolish. Putting her shopping bags on the dining room table she was about to hang up her coat when she caught a slight movement out of the corner of her eye. Her heart was pounding so hard she thought it would stop at any second.

She turned toward the corner chair in the living room and stared in disbelief. Realizing her mouth was hanging open she closed it and put her hands on her hips striking a defiant pose.

“How the hell did you get in my house?”

The gentleman smiled and waved his hand in the direction of the sofa. “Please, sit down. I’ll answer your question.”

What gall he has she thought but found herself complying with his request. She sat on the edge of the seat and stared at him. “Tell me why I shouldn’t call the police right now.”

He shrugged and indicated the phone. “Go ahead. I won’t be here when they arrive if you do. Rather counterproductive, don’t you think?”

“You were at the restaurant.” She felt foolish as soon as the words came out her mouth and she felt herself blushing.

“Yes I was.”

“Why?”

“I wanted to see you before we spoke. A habit of mine I suppose.”

“You mean you stalk women all the time?”

He leaned forward and folded his hands on his knee. “My dear, I can assure I do not stalk anyone. We have business to attend to, you and I. I merely wanted to see you before we did so, that’s all.”

As angry as she was at the liberties he had taken she came to realize she didn’t feel threatened by him. It dawned on her that this must be something to do with the watch.

“You still haven’t answered my question as you said you would. How did you get in?”

“Through the door of course. That, however, is irrelevant. I’m here because I need to explain your situation to you.”

“My situation? I wasn’t aware I had one.”

He leaned back and his face lost all expression. “You have recently come into possession of an object, a pocket watch to be exact. You are labouring under the delusion that this was a matter of chance. I am here to inform that it was nothing of the sort.”

Part 5 Tomorrow

One response to “The End Of Time – Part 4

  1. Can’t wait to find out what happens!!

Leave a Reply

