The End Of Time – Part 5

She sat staring at him, unblinking for several seconds. “So you’re telling me that you left the watch on the bus for me to find? How can that be? I was the first person on that morning.”

“No, Sarah, that’s not what I’m telling you. How the watch came to be on the bus seat is unimportant. What I’m telling you is that it’s no accident that you came to be in possession of it.”

Beginning to feel agitated Sarah leaned back into the sofa and studied him for a minute. She needed to understand what was going on. This was beginning to strike her as some sort of elaborate scheme. She half expected him to tell her she needed to give him money.

“Look, I don’t know what’s going on here. You break into my house – “

“Sarah, I did not break into your house. It’s true that I’m here without your permission but that’s beside the point. Are you not curious about why you’ve been given the watch?”

“Okay, fine, I’ll bite. Why was I given the watch?”

The gentleman stood up and began pacing. “I am not at liberty to tell you who I am, suffice it to say that my job is to, shall we say, manage events as they occur within time for select individuals. I’ll explain this as simply as I can. Feel free to ask as many questions as you like when I’m done speaking but please allow me to finish first.”

He stopped and stared at her until she nodded her agreement.

“Now then, all human beings have free will. Within the framework of that will some individuals are on a path to achieve certain outcomes that in turn affect the lives of others. You might say that the universe is like a web that has no weaver. Each event in time in turn affects other events. You could think of it as stones being thrown into a pond. The ripple from each stone intersects with other ripples thereby affecting the ongoing course of each other’s ripples. Do you follow?”

Nodding, she crossed her arms in front of her.

“Good. Now then, from time to time actions of individuals on a particular course can be unintentionally affected by the free will of another individual. When that happens I, and others like me, are sent to intervene in order to set things to right. It so happens that you are affected in the way that I have just described. I am not at liberty to divulge the exact nature of your involvement but I can tell you that there are two other people that come into this matter. Because of your position within this situation you have been selected to receive the watch.”

He stopped and sat down again and looked at her expectantly. “Do you have any questions at this point?”

Unable to suppress her confusion Sarah threw her hands in the air and shook her head. “Oh I have questions all right. My first one would have to be is this some kind of elaborate joke? A hoax? A scam? Oh the hell with it, I’ll just cut to the chase; what the hell are you on about?”

He leaned forward and fixed her with a grave expression. “Young lady, I can assure you that this is no laughing matter. Nor is it any sort of prank. I’m sorry that I can’t be more forthcoming about the exact nature of what’s occurring. What you need to understand is that you were meant to possess the watch. You see, Sarah, the watch is a power object. It obligates the person who possesses it to make a decision. The outcome of that decision determines which of the individuals involved will live and which will die. Now then, does that make the matter more clear to you?”

Part 6 Tomorrow

2 responses to “The End Of Time – Part 5

  1. I believe that too! That our lives and what we do, say or think can affect someone else’s life!!
    Like the ripples in a pond! I wrote about that a few years back!

  2. It’s an ancient concept, goes back at least 5,000 years. Makes a lot of sense, eh?

Leave a Reply

