The Smell Of Blood – Part 8 – The End

Sensing that she was on to him he took out his phone and hit redial. As he put the phone away he picked up his pace and closed the gap. Excitement was in the air and he felt the old familiar urge.

Moving along the shops Ellen nearly jumped out of her skin as a man carrying a parcel came out of a doorway unexpectedly and collided with her nearly knocking her to the ground. “Oh, Miss, I’m so sorry, I wasn’t watching where I was going. Are you alright?”

“I…oh my, I didn’t see you either. I hope nothing broke.”

Retrieving the box he stood up and shook it next to his ear. “Nope. No harm done. Are you all right? You look pretty frantic if you don’t mind my saying.”

Hesitating, Ellen looked around but her stalker was nowhere to be seen. She looked back at the man who had run into her. He had a kind face and seemed genuinely concerned about her. “Well…it’s a long story, but there’s a man following me. It’s not the first time he’s done it. I don’t know where he is right now, he was right behind me. I was trying to get to the bus stop to get away from him. I lost my phone or I’d call the police. He left this horrible note in my mailbox…”

Stopping as she realized she was pouring out her soul to a complete stranger she blushed, feeling foolish. She looked around, suddenly unwilling to look him in the eyes.

“Hey, look, it’s all right, no need to be embarrassed. That sounds horrible. So the police know about this guy?”

“No. I mean, they came to my apartment when I got the note but – look, I’m sorry, I don’t want to burden you. I have to get to my bus stop.”

“Wait, you say this guy was just following you? He won’t be far away if that’s the case. I really think you should go to the police. If they know the story maybe they can find him. Look, my car is right around the corner. I’ll drive you to the station; it’s only a few blocks. You really should report this. If you need a ride after that I’ll take you wherever you were going. I’m in no hurry.”

“Oh, I couldn’t impose. Really, I’ll be fine. You’re very kind.”

“No, I insist. Really, you shouldn’t be by yourself right now. Let me give you a ride.”

Thinking it over she conceded he was probably right. She didn’t know where he was right now and that was dangerous. Maybe she should go to the police.

“Okay, if you’re sure. Thank you, thank you so much.”

“No problem. My car is right around the corner. Let’s go. My name is Eddie, by the way.”

“Hi Eddie. I’m Ellen.”

They walked around the corner and he used the remote on his key ring to unlock his late model Mercedes and opened the door for her. Getting in he turned and smiled at her.

About to thank him again she noticed an odd smell.

“Eddie, what’s that odour? It smells sort of familiar. I – “

Ellen barely registered the hand that whipped around to her face from the back and covered her mouth and nose with an ether soaked handkerchief. She was unconscious almost immediately.

Smirking at his partner Eddie nodded his approval.

“You’re right, John, she’s very special. It’s going to be a wonderful night.”

John pulled his razor from his pocket and cut a thin line across her cheek. Shuddering in anticipation he leaned in to take a deep whiff of the blood that rolled down to her throat. It was dark, rich and he decided, luscious as he lapped it up with his long thin tongue.

“Yes, Eddie, it most certainly is. Now get us out of here before someone spots us.”

5 responses to “The Smell Of Blood – Part 8 – The End

  1. I shudder to think what they have planned for her….

  2. Does that mean you like it? By the way, we’ll be in KL on the 2cd of May. Stay for a few days before heading for the highlands and then Sumatra. Would you like to have lunch or dinner with us? My treat, of course. Let me know.

  3. oh wow! hehe! that would be nice!! 🙂 2nd of May is a holiday in Malaysia but I’m not sure if you’d want to meet then as just arriving you both would be pooped! I shall email you my number and closer to the date before you fly off, we could confirm a date , time and place?

    And yes, I did like the story…this one has a makings of a short story!!

    • I’ll contact you closer to the time. We’ll be going out to dinner that night tired or no but if the following day would suit we can do that. We’ll be there 2 days then one day before we head back, so I guess that would be the 15th. We’re going to the Cameron Highlands I guess, have you been there?

  4. Yes I have. Popular hill station. It’s nice and cooler than in the city. When you go up look out for the aborigines! And yes contact me when nearer the date. Where have u planned to stay in Kl?

Leave a Reply

