A Fish Out Of Water – Part 6 – The End

“Sit down Leo. We’re not through here.”

Leo sat but stared daggers at Alex. Alex chuckled and indicated the goon on the floor.

“Not a bright spark that one. I would think you could afford better.”

“What do you want asshole?”

Alex took his phone out. “I want you to make a call for me. You’re going to tell Will you’ve accepted his deal and that the two of you are square.”

“Yeah? Why would I do something like that?”

“Because you want to live, Leo.”

Leo licked his lips and considered his options. He concluded he didn’t have any.

“So give me the phone.”

Alex threw his phone on the desk. “Make no mistake Leo. You deviate from the script and you’re a dead man. I have no reason to kill you as long as you cooperate.”

Leo frowned but picked up the phone and made the call.

“Will, it’s me. Listen, your man is here. I’m not real happy about this deal but he’s talked me into it. I accept the $20,000. We’re square. Next time pay your debts up front and we won’t have any problems, you hear me?”

He put the phone down. “So now what?”

“Now, Leo, you die.”

“Hey! You said – “

“I lied.”

He put one between Leo’s eyes and one in his heart. Casting his eyes around the apartment Alex considered seeing if there was any cash he could avail himself of but he was certain the shots would have been heard by others in the building and decided it would be best to leave.

Reaching the car he took one last look around and made his way back to the cottage. He tucked his gun into the back of his waistband and walked in all smiles. He saw immediately that Beth had done her job. Will was three sheets to the wind.

“Alex! Good job man. I had my doubts but you pulled it off. So Leo’s good with everything?”

“Trust me Will, Leo doesn’t have a care in the world.”

“Damn. That’s really something. I gotta take a leak, be right back.”

After he had stumbled to the toilet and closed the door Beth smiled at her man and winked. Alex shook his head and sat down.

“You’ve really got him wasted. Good work.”

“I’m feeling no pain myself. So it all went as planned?”

“Leo is at peace. I wanted to see if he had any parting gifts but after four shots I figured I’d better just get out of there. It’s been a hell of a day. We should finish up here and get going.”

He picked up Will’s gun from where he had carelessly left it in the seat and took the shells out and put it back. Will came out of the bathroom a few seconds later.

“So then you two. I want to thank you for getting me out of my mess. I’m a man of my word, you’re both free to go.”

He sat down again, picking up his gun as he did. He pointed it in Alex’s direction and then waved toward the door.

“There’s just one thing Will. You brought us here. Our car is back downtown.”

“Ah, you’re right. Shit, I’d drive ya back but I’m a little out of it, you know?”

Alex nodded. “Well then, I guess we’ll just have to take your car.”

Will sat up with a startled look. “What? You’re not gonna do that, I won’t let you!”

He pointed his gun at Alex and pulled the trigger, a stunned look on his face when nothing happened.

“That was your last mistake Will.”

Pulling his gun Alex shot him twice in the chest.  He looked at the body and shook his head.

“Some people are just too stupid to live. Grab the money sweetheart. It’s time to go party.”

They headed for the car.

The End.

2 responses to “A Fish Out Of Water – Part 6 – The End

  1. *clap* *clap* Good one!! I like smart crooks! hehe!

  2. I never get to see you bro but you’ve been around for years .http://facebook.com/cherujackson

Leave a Reply

