Monkey See – Part 6

When he came to the first thing that registered was a dank smell that he found unpleasant. Opening his eyes he was forced to shut them right away as a strong beam of light assaulted them and made him aware of a throbbing pain in the back of his head. He tried to sit up but his muscles refused to cooperate.

“Welcome to my world Desmond. As soon as you’re capable you and I are going on a voyage of discovery together.”

Fear gripped him at the sound of the familiar voice. His last moments in his house came back to him and he realized he had been abducted. He lay still for a moment trying to think.

“Come now Desmond, nothing to say?”

“Why?”

“Why what? Why did I bring you here? You’re in denial Desmond. It just won’t do. It’s time for you to face up.”

“You’re out of your mind.”

A low guttural laugh that made his skin crawl. “It’s all relative. Soon you’ll have a different point of view.”

“The police will be looking for me.”

“Yes, I suppose they’ll add you to the list. Doesn’t matter. We have work to do Desmond. We have no time for them.”

“What the hell did you hit me with?”

“Oh, it has many names. Blackjack, sap, slapper, slapjack. They used to be standard issue in law enforcement. Don’t you just love the irony?”

“What the hell do you want with me? It’s not enough to use my stories as an excuse for murder now you abduct me. Are you going to kill me, is that it?”

“Kill you? Oh no Desmond. I’m going to liberate you. You’ll thank me.”

Desmond laughed in spite of the pain it caused. “Liberate me. Great. I just know I’m going to regret asking, but what do you mean by that?”

“You’ll know soon enough. It’s all lined up. So tell me, what did you think of my work with the first two? Did I get all the details right?”

Desmond was feeling nauseous. He tested his hands. He wasn’t restrained. “Why are you doing this?”

“Desmond, you haven’t been listening. I’m doing this for you. You’ll see soon enough.”

“Look, I’m really not interested in having you do anything for me. How about if you just let me go and we forget all about this whole thing?”

The light went out and a face loomed over his. He could just make out the eyes and mouth.

“You’re very unappreciative Desmond. You need an attitude adjustment.”

A low chuckle and then the face disappeared from view. He heard a rustling sound and then a door opening and closing. He laid there a couple of minutes more and then struggled to a sitting position. He got off of the table he was on and groped his way through the darkness in the direction he had heard the door open and close.

After a few minutes he found it. It was locked, as he knew it would be. He put his face down to the keyhole but he couldn’t make anything out through it. He slumped to the floor and thought about what he could do. It occurred to his that he could stay to one side of the door and perhaps overpower his captor when he came back but that would probably be risky as hell.

Still, he had no other options. From the sound of things this madman had plans for him that he didn’t want to think about. He felt around the door again and then positioned himself so that he would be behind it when it opened. Then he stood and waited.

Part 7 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

