Interval – Part 2

Mike snorted and shook his head. “I’d be inclined to think so too if I believed in it, but I don’t.”

Alice perked up at that. “I don’t either. Never have really. I mean they taught me about all that stuff as a child but I never thought it was true.”

Neil looked back and forth and thought for a moment. “It was just a flip comment. I mean, I don’t believe in Hell either. Or Heaven for that matter.”

Putting her head in hands Alice was the picture of despair. She looked up a minute later.

“Why are there no doors or windows? What kind of place is this?”

“I don’t know,” Neil muttered, “but we need to figure it out. I mean, what happens when we get thirsty or hungry or have to go to the bathroom?”

Mike’s face went blank. “Damn. I hadn’t thought of that. Well, I’m not hungry or thirsty anyway. Then again I can’t remember the last time I ate.”

Alice and Neil spoke at the same time. “I don’t either.”

“Doesn’t that seem strange?” Neil’s mind was working hard. “I mean, who doesn’t remember the last time they ate?”

They all sat in silence thinking it over.  Mike was about to speak when they heard a gasp coming from a far corner. They whipped their heads around simultaneously. A girl was sitting with her knees drawn up to her chest. She looked at them wide-eyed as they looked on.

“What the…where am I? What’s going on?”

The three at the table looked at each other. Neil broke the spell.

“That’s what we’d like to know. What’s your name?”

The girl stood slowly and edged her way along the wall looking all around. At last her shoulders dropped and she walked toward the table.

“First tell me who you people are and how I got here.”

Alice smiled and patted the seat next to her. “We don’t know how we got here, love. We’ve been trying to figure it out.”

The girl hesitated; then sat down. “What do you mean you don’t know?”

Mike gritted his teeth. “You don’t know either, why would you expect that we do?”

“I’m Brenda. Brenda Strang. Look, I don’t know what I’m saying. I’m sorry.”

She looked away and Mike kicked himself mentally. “No, I’m sorry. We’re all on edge. We don’t know what the hell is going on. How we got here, where this is. It’s all just…”

“Too much,” Alice offered. No one said anything for several minutes.

“Has anyone found a way out?”

“No. Just before you appeared we realized there aren’t any doors or windows.”

Neil stared at Alice for a moment. “When was the last time you ate, Alice?”

“I…don’t remember…how strange.”

Neil stood up and began wandering around the room. The others sat watching him for a minute then went back to talking amongst themselves.

“There has to be an explanation.” Alice declared. “There’s an explanation for everything.”

Mike took a deep breath and exhaled through his nostrils. “Well I for one will be happy when it gets here.”

The two women looked him over. He was a burly guy with old, faded tattoos and a receding hairline. He was dressed in jeans and a plaid work shirt. Alice noted the dirt under his fingernails. She decided he was telling the truth about being a mechanic.

She was about to question Brenda further when Neil let out with a loud gasp. They turned in unison to see what the matter was. Neil was standing staring upward with a dumbfounded look on his face.

“I know what’s going – “

He disappeared before he could finish his sentence. They all sat staring for several more seconds, what they had seen simply wouldn’t register. Until Brenda screamed and brought them all back into the moment.

Part 3 Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

