Unseen Tides – Part 3

At noon they walked to Lee Ho Fooks for lunch. Kenny spotted Jan right away and smiled but turned away abruptly leaving them to their own devices. Jan gave Marsha a puzzled look and they sat down at Jan’s favourite table.

Kenny appeared again with menus and jasmine tea and seemed friendly but distracted.

“Hi Kenny. You seem a bit jumpy today, are they keeping you too busy?”

“Oh no Miss Jan, everything is good. Hello Jan’s friend, I’m Kenny.”

“Hi Kenny. I’ve heard great things about you. It’s good to finally meet you.”

He took their order and disappeared into the kitchen.

“Well now, you’re right. He seems like a man with something to hide.”

“Yeah, Marsha, this is weird. I mean, what with yesterday’s goings on. Maybe I shouldn’t ask him?”

“No, I think this is all the more reason to ask.”

When Kenny retuned with their food Marsha made a face at Jan.

“Um, Kenny, before you go I wanted to ask you a question. About yesterday, when you gave me my cookie you said I needed to be vigilant. You remember?”

“Yes, I remember.”

He was fidgeting and Jan felt bad but she pressed on.

“Kenny, why did you say that?”

He looked as though he were about to bolt at any moment. He glanced over his shoulder and then looked down at the table.

“Miss Jan, it is none of my business maybe but you’re a nice lady so I will say. You have been coming here for a long time. Lately there has been a man that comes in after you. He always sits by the window. He looks at you a lot. I think this man has…well, bad energy. I don’t like. You understand?”

“Yes Kenny, I understand. Is he here today?”

“He came in early today. He – oh! He’s leaving now!”

He pointed to the door and Jan and Marsha turned just in time to see a tall man in a trench coat putting on a fedora and heading out in a hurry.

“Kenny, how long has he been watching me?”

“I don’t know if he is watching you but I think maybe he is. He’s been doing it for about a month now.”

“Why didn’t you tell me before?”

Kenny hung his head in embarrassment. “Not Kenny’s business. I’m sorry.”

He shuffled away with a dejected look and Jan’s heart went out to him.

“Damn. That wasn’t good.”

“Listen girl, stay with what’s important. Why is this guy stalking you? This after that phone call yesterday?”

“Yeah. What can I do?”

“I don’t know. Be careful for a start. Pay attention to everything around you when you go out. If you get another one of those calls tell him you’ve seen him and you know where to find him. That should put a fright in him. He’s probably just some creep.”

They ate lunch in silence, Marsha not knowing what to say and Jan reliving the events of the previous day. When they were done Jan saw Kenny approaching with two fortune cookies on a plate.

“Kenny, look, I don’t want you to feel bad about that guy. I have one more question for you. When you said I needed to be vigilant were you talking about the guy watching me or was it something else?”

“I got this feeling when I brought you the cookie. I think maybe something is not right.”

Jan fished the fortune out her purse again.

“Read this Kenny. Tell me what you think.”

Kenny read it and shook his head.

“I don’t know Miss Jan. Never seen one like this before.”

Jan picked up her cookie and broke it open and read the fortune then asked Marsha to read hers.

“Today is a day to make a big wish.”

Jan handed her fortune to Marsha and folded her arms.

“Oh my god, Jan. This is unreal.”

Jan took it and read it out loud to Kenny.

“The unceasing tide brings both good and evil. Be prepared.”

Part 4 Tomorrow

2 responses to “Unseen Tides – Part 3

  1. HELLO , TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTION , FORM FOLLOWS FUNCTION .
    GIANFRANCO FRONZI . JULY /9/2011

Leave a Reply

